Order for Customer
Your shopping basket is empty.

BFI London Film Festival Awards

The BFI London Film Festival Awards recognise inspiring filmmaking. We are proud to showcase the extraordinary creative achievements of both British and international filmmakers whose films enrich this year’s programme.

Official Competition

The Best Film Award recognises inspiring, inventive and distinctive filmmaking.

Previous winners: A Prophet (2009) and Rust and Bone (2012) directed by Jacques Audiard, How I Ended This Summer directed by Alexei Popogrebsky (2010), Lynne Ramsay’s We Need to Talk About Kevin (2011), Pawel Pawlikowski’s Ida (2013), Andrey Zvyagintsev’s Leviathan (2014) and Chevalier (2015) directed by Athina Rachel Tsangari.

See all films in Official Competition

First Feature Competition

The Sutherland Award recognises the most original and imaginative directorial debut.

Recent recipients of this award include Scandar Copti and Yaron Shani for Ajami (2009), Clio Barnard for The Arbor (2010), Pablo Giorgelli for Las Acacias (2011), Benh Zeitlin for Beasts of the Southern Wild (2012), Anthony Chen for Ilo Ilo (2013), Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy for The Tribe (2014) and Robert Eggers for The Witch in 2015.

See all films in First Feature Competition

Documentary Competition

The Grierson Award recognises films with integrity, originality, and social or cultural significance.

Recent winners include Yoav Shamir’s Defamation (2009), Janus Metz’s Armadillo (2010), Werner Herzog’s Into the Abyss: A Tale of Death, A Tale of Life (2011), Alex Gibney’s Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence In The House of God (2012), Paul-Julien Robert’s My Fathers, My Mother and Me (2013), Ossama Mohammed and Wiam Simav Bedirxan’s Silvered Water, Syria Self-Portrait (2014) and in 2015, Jennifer Peedom’s Sherpa.

See all films in Documentary Competition

Short Film Award

The Short Film Award recognises short form works with a unique cinematic voice and a confident handling of chosen theme and content.

The nominated films can be found within the Festival’s main programme strands or as full collections:

Short Film Award Programme 1
Short Film Award Programme 2

BFI Fellowship: Paul Greengrass

The highest accolade the BFI board of Governors can bestow is the BFI Fellowship, which this year goes to British film director, producer, screenwriter and former journalist Paul Greengrass.

Whether it be hard-hitting documentaries for World in Action, dramatisations of real-life events with his signature use of hand-held cameras (Bloody Sunday, Omagh, The Murder of Stephen Lawrence) or highly cinematic and heart-thumping thrillers (United 93, The Bourne Supremacy, The Bourne Ultimatum, Jason Bourne, Captain Phillips), his multi-award-winning work for both the small and big screen makes him one of the most exciting and versatile filmmakers working in film today.

Paul will receive this prestigious honour for his creative contribution to film and television on October 14th at the Festival’s Awards ceremony at Banqueting House in central London.

Promotional Code

  • If you have a BFI promotion, please enter your Code here: