Order for Customer
Your shopping basket is empty.

This site lists films and events from the 2016 BFI London Film Festival. The festival programme for 2017 will be announced later this year.
Sign-up for festival email updates

BFI London Film Festival Awards

The BFI London Film Festival Awards recognise inspiring filmmaking and we are proud to showcase the extraordinary creative achievements of both British and International filmmakers whose films enrich this year’s programme.

Official Competition

The Best Film Award recognises inspiring, inventive and distinctive filmmaking.

Previous winners: A Prophet (2009) and Rust and Bone (2012) directed by Jacques Audiard, How I Ended This Summer directed by Alexei Popogrebsky (2010), Lynne Ramsay’s We Need to Talk About Kevin (2011), Pawel Pawlikowski’s Ida (2013), Andrey Zvyagintsev’s Leviathan (2014) and Chevalier (2015) directed by Athina Rachel Tsangari.
See films

BFI Fellowship: Steve McQueen

The highest accolade the BFI Board of Governors can bestow is the BFI Fellowship, which this year goes to the visionary Turner Prize-winning video artist and Oscar-winning producer, director and screenwriter Steve McQueen, for his outstanding contribution to film culture, showcased in his range of artworks and three multi-award-winning features, Hunger (LFF2008), Shame (LFF2011) and 12 Years a Slave (LFF2013).

Documentary Competition

The Grierson Award recognises films with integrity, originality and social or cultural significance.

Recent winners include Yoav Shamir’s Defamation (2009), Janus Metz’s Armadillo (2010), Werner Herzog’s Into the Abyss: A Tale of Death, A Tale of Life (2011), Alex Gibney’s Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence In The House of God (2012), Paul-Julien Robert’s My Fathers, My Mother and Me (2013), Ossama Mohammed and Wiam Simav Bedirxan’s Silvered Water, Syria Self-Portrait (2014) and in 2015, Jennifer Peedom’s Sherpa.
See films

First Feature Competition

The Sutherland Award recognises the most original and imaginative directorial debut.

Recent recipients of this award include Scandar Copti and Yaron Shani for Ajami (2009), Clio Barnard for The Arbor (2010), Pablo Giorgelli for Las Acacias (2011), Benh Zeitlin for Beasts of the Southern Wild (2012), Anthony Chen for Ilo Ilo (2013), Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy for The Tribe (2014) and Robert Eggers for The Witch in 2015.
See films

Short Film Award

The Short Film Award recognises short form works with a unique cinematic voice and a confident handling of chosen theme and content.

The Nominated films can be found within the Festival’s main programme strands or as full collections as detailed below. Launched last year, the 2015 winners were Shai Heredia and Shumona Goel for An Old Dog’s Diary.

Short Film Award Programme 1
Short Film Award Programme 2

Promotional Code

  • If you have a BFI promotion, please enter your Code here: